News:

Plugins can be downloaded from HERE

Big Rat's introduction

Started by Big Rat, March 28, 2009, 07:00:05 am

previous topic - next topic
Go Down

Big Rat

Greetings ITAN.

I have been approached in VO by several members and chatted and done a bit of training, a few missions and some sparring etc. I have been encouraged to apply to become a member. I did not rush into it because I was (still am) not really sure of the pros / cons? of guild membership, but ITAN looks to be close to what I started playing VO for in the first place... more about that in a minute. First, a bit about me.

I am a middle aged pro musician (performer, teacher, composer etc.) with a wife, kid, dog, mortgage - the works. I am not a real "gamer" in the usual sense of the word, but have been playing one game (Descent) avidly for over ten years as one of my stress relief activities. For those of you who do not know Descent, it is a first person shooter with small, single person spaceships, and 3-D flight set in underground mines filled with mining robots to fight against in single-player mode, and a multi-player mode (played on Kali) that totally rocks! It must be one of the direct ancestors of VO. It is an old DOS game from the mid 90's though, and while there is a new-ish version for XP, that came along too late to save it from slowly dying out it seems. It is very difficult to get games going there these days, which is what sent me searching for new action, which brought me to VO. So - sorry for mentioning descent so much, but it has a lot to do with why I am here in several ways.